Before knowing the History of Lord Venkateshwara Swamy, lets know briefly about Dashavatara (The 10 principle incarnations) of Lord Vishnu.

In Sanskrit, avatar means descent, or incarnation. LORD takes the AVATARA to protect the virtuous, to destroy evil and to establish “Dharma’ in every Yuga.

In the Bhagavad-Gita (4.8), Lord Krishna gives the reasons He descends to this world: "To deliver the pious and to annihilate the miscreants, as well as to re-establish the principles of religion, I Myself appear, millennium after millennium."

Avtaaraa: asankhyeyah” – Avataaras are countless. There is a saying that the Lord Himself has not kept a tab on the number of Avataaras He had taken! Down from the Vedas to Puraanas, as many as 100 + Avataaras have been identified but only Dasha (10) as the main Avataaras.

The ten principal incarnations of Lord Vishnu are collectively known as the Dashavataras.

The following are the 10 principle incarnations of LORD VISHNU in 4 YUGAS:

4 Avataaras in Krita Yuga (Matsya, Koorma, Varaaha and Nrisimha)
3 Avataaras in Treta Yuga (Vaamana, Parasuraama and Sri Rama)
2 Avataaras in Dwaapara Yuga (Buddha and Krishna)
1 Avataara in Kali Yuga (the apocalyptic Kalki, yet to be)

Matsya--the fish incarnation. He appeared in order to rescue the Vedas from the waters of devastation.

Kurma--the tortoise. He acted as a support for the mountain used in the pastime of churning the ocean.

Varaha--the boar. He picked up the earth and killed the demon Hiranyaksha.

Narasimha--the half-man, half-lion incarnation. He appeared in order to save His young devotee Prahlada.

Vamana--the dwarf. He tricked the demon king Bali into relinquishing control of the universe.

Parashurama--the warrior incarnation. He wiped out twenty-one generations of impious kings.

Ramachandra--the perfect king, hero of the Ramayana. He rescued his wife, Sita, from the clutches of the demon Ravana.

Sri Krishna Avatara--The God of love and the ideal becomes intimate union and communion with the incarnate God, both in His timeless essence and in His ceaseless beneficent activity in the world of action.

Buddha-- Is mentioned as an Avatar of Vishnu in the Puranas. Bhagavata Purana portrays Buddha as twenty fourth of twenty five avatars, prefiguring a forthcoming final incarnation.

Kalki--the destroyer. He will incarnate to wipe out the degraded population at the end of this age, the age of Kali or quarrel.


Detailed Information on the Dasavataras

History of Lord Venkateswara Swamy

The 25 Avatars of the Puranas


Copyright © 2004 Srimannaraya.com, All rights reserved.